Buca di Beppo

6

October 18, 2012 by tastytallahassee

I finally got the chance to try out Buca di Beppo! If you have missed all the buzz, Buca recently opened up shop in the Governor’s Square Mall at the old Ruby Tuesday’s location. They keep sending me coupons  and lawwwd knows I love me some  coupons. The first time I tried to go, the wait was about 30 minutes. I was on my lunch break so that was a no-go. This time, there was no wait for lunch (on a Friday, at that) so I got to try Tallahassee’s newest Italian restaurant.

At dinner, Buca’s food is served family-style, meaning one dish can feed 2 to 4 people. But at lunch, the food is more focused on individual portions. The menu has all the classics – pizza, pastas, salads and more. I opted for my favorite Italian dish, Eggplant Parmigiana. I consider this choice hard to mess up, but I have had some doozies in the past.. cold on the inside (hello, frozen!), not enough eggplant, yucky soggy breading, etc. Well I’m happy to say that Buca di Beppo did not disappoint. The eggplant was still very crispy by the time I got it.  The tomato sauce was full of flavor. It was a just a darn good eggplant parm. My only critique on the food is that the bread they serve at the beginning of the meal is pretty sub-par. It wasn’t served warm and is really nothing special. But hey, we didn’t go there for the bread!

While the food was an A+, the real star of the show was the service. I wish I had written down our server’s name. He was awesome, and I wish there were more people in Tallahassee’s restaurants like him. He gave us some good insight into what we were ordering. He even told me that he doesn’t like eggplant but that the eggplant parm was one of his favorite Buca meals. He was quick, attentive and genuine. Good job to Tallahassee’s Buca di Beppo for hiring and training such a wonderful server!

My final thoughts on Buca di Beppo: The food is classic Italian, and they are keeping it simple and flavorful. I’d like to go back for a family-style meal at night. The service was awesome – and a happy diner is much more likely to enjoy their food!

Price: Under $15 at lunch
Atmosphere and cleanliness:  Family friendly
Food: Doing it right!
Service: Other restaurants should be jealous

Buca di Beppo on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Buca di Beppo

  1. Both you and Bill said this place is a winner. I have to check it out, even though I am usually squirrelly about Italian places. :)

    • I feel like Italian food is either right or wrong. I liked my eggplant parm a lot so I’m saying this one was right!

      • I compare all Italian food to the stuff I grew up eating. My Nana made a mean eggplant parmigiana. Mine is fairly solid as well. I usually avoid ordering it, but I think I’ll try it at Buca di Beppo since Becky really likes it too.

  2. Nicole says:

    I want to try it, sounds good!

  3. Mike, nothing is homemade, but it’s good stuff, especially for a chain.

  4. [...] Buca di Beppo – Simple and classic Italian food couple with great service make this restaurant a winner. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 402 other followers

