Jasmine Cafe

2

October 8, 2012 by tastytallahassee

It has been a while since I have been to a review-worthy place! Sigh… It’s been a busy 2 weeks, and unfortunately my salary from my day job doesn’t support me eating out all the time so I had to take a little break. But last week I was able to get out for lunch twice, and both times I had sushi!

The first place I went was Jasmine Cafe, located downtown near the Capitol and First Baptist Church on College Avenue. The location is awesome for me since I work downtown and can walk. I’m not sure if I would ever go here if I had to drive, though – street parking is sparse.

I had a really hard time deciding what to get. I have been wanting sushi for a while, but their sandwich menu intrigued me.. and ya’ll know I love a good sandwich! But, alas, I went with my craving and ordered the sushi lunch special – 2 rolls and bowl of miso soup. For my rolls, I chose the Japanese Bagel (smoked salmon, cream cheese, cucumber and flying fish roe) and the Snow White (crab, asparagus, cream cheese and flying fish roe). One of my friends ordered the steamed edamame as an appetizer and was kind enough to let me share it with her so I’ll discuss that as well in this review.

First, let’s talk about the miso soup.  The spoon that was brought with the soup was a cheap plastic “tasting” spoon – the kind you would probably see at a catered event with a little bite of something on it. I said a prayer to baby Jesus that they throw away they spoons instead of re-using them and dug in. I am a big fan of miso soup, my favorite in town being from Sakura (just ask my husband – he has gone to get it for me when I’m sick). In Jasmine’s case, the broth was wonderful, but the tofu tasted sour. Blech.. not sure if that’s what they were going for but I was not impressed.

Let’s move on to the edamame! I’ve had the edamame here several times. I’m like a little dog whose ears perk up when someone decides to order a bowl of it. Edamame! The healthy appetizer (right???). It is hard to critique something so basic. Unfortunately at this visit, there was wayyyyy too much salt on the edamame. My friend was scraping it off on the side of the bowl before eating it. It didn’t stop us from finishing the entire thing, though. I love that stuff! I just needed a lot of water with it.

Lastly, and most importantly, the sushi! I had mixed feelings on my sushi there this week.  First, the good – it all tasted fresh, the layer of rice was perfect in each roll and the cream cheese in both of my rolls was yummy! The not-so-good… I thought that the smoked salmon in the Japanese Bagel was a little too salty and strongly flavored, but that is more of a personal preference. Note to self – no more smoked salmon in sushi!

Overalls, Jasmine Cafe, aka Jasmine’s if we are talking in-person, is a decent place. I’ve had both great meals there and sub-par meals there. The service during this visit was awesome, but I’ve had to wait way too long for food before. The price is good. We’re talking like $9 for a sushi lunch good. I have had great chop bowls and terrible chop bowls (curry shrimp both times). I am still curious about their sandwiches. Their salads sound amazing. I guess what I’m saying is that even though I wasn’t blown away with Jasmine’s this time, I’ll still go back and try again because every trip there has been different.

Price: Under $10 for a sushi lunch
Atmosphere and cleanliness:  Loud, crowded at lunch, cute interior
Food: Different each visit
Service: Typically friendly, not always fast

Jasmine Cafe & Lounge on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Jasmine Cafe

  1. We used to go to Jasmine when I was in law school. It was okay at best, and the highlight was often times the Sake Bombs. There are much better places in town for sushi, but the location can’t be beat.

  2. [...] Jasmine Cafe – Despite some way too salty edamame, Tasty Tallahassee thinks Jasmine is a good value worth repeat visits to try another of the many items on the menu. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 402 other followers

