Jason’s Deli

5

September 11, 2012 by tastytallahassee

I recently went to Jason’s Deli for lunch on Apalachee Parkway. It was my 5th or 6th visit since they opened a few months ago. I obviously like it since I keep returning, and I assume everyone else does too because the place is always packed when I go. Well I decided to pull it up on urbanspoon and was shocked at some of the reviews! Only 70% liked it, and one of my favorite bloggers didn’t care for the food. What the heck, guys? Maybe I’m just sandwich crazed because I think it’s pretty darn good!

Jason’s Deli is all about using fresh and “premium” ingredients. They don’t use any trans fats or high fructose corn syrup. There are some organic and gluten-free menu items. The main menu categories are sandwiches, soups, salads (including a salad bar), pastas and potatoes. Of course I always get sandwiches. I just can’t resist!

I tried a new sandwich on this visit- the zucchini grillini. I got the “manager’s special,” which ended up being half a sandwich and two sides for this particular meal. I chose fresh fruit and baked chips for my sides. The fruit came with a sweet yogurt dipping sauce that was ah-mazing! I dipped my chips in it after I ran out of fruit. My sandwich was great. It was stacked with fresh veggies and was so filling that I didn’t even realize it was vegetarian until I was done.

Zucchini Grillini at Jason’s Deli

Yogurt fruit dip

One of my favorite things at Jason’s is the free icecream. This icecream is so good. I don’t normally like chocolate icecream, but Jason’s is awesome. Maybe it’s the lack of high fructose corn syrup?

Free icecream!

The atmosphere is decent. The place is clean but the tables are small and right on top of one another. I brought my daughter when she was still in a baby carrier, and I was afraid she was going to get stepped on! The popularity of Jason’s at lunch often makes it hard to find a good table (and parking spot). It was a little bit slower when I went on a weekend but still busy.

Enjoyed my lunch!

Overall, I really like the concept and cost- quality ingredients at an affordable price. I dig the sandwiches, fruit dip and free icecream. It’s not the most comfortable place to dine because of the close quarters, but it serves its purpose.

Price: Inexpensive
Cleanliness: Not bad for a place so busy 
Food: Lots of options, good sandwiches, quality ingredients 
Service: Fast, friendly
Jason's Deli on Urbanspoon

5 thoughts on “Jason’s Deli

  1. Good review. Do we agree to disagree? :)

  2. I really think you should try the zucchini grillini.. then we can talk :)

  3. I enjoyed your writeup!! I think Jason’s is a valuable addition to the Parkway — I have gotten their spud au broc and definitely got two meals out of it – probably could have been three!! I have heard the mixed opinions too. Like you, though, I think we could all agree that free ice cream is a pleasant restaurant amenity!! Here’s my writeup from January: http://biggreenpen.com/2012/01/16/what-tallahassee-needed-a-jasons-deli-giveaway/

  4. [...] Jason’s Deli: Fresh food and free ice cream make Jason’s Deli a winner. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 402 other followers

