Mickey’s Lakeside Cafe

3

August 22, 2012 by tastytallahassee

For months now I have driven past Mickey’s Lakeside Cafe, one of the most noticeable of the Lake Ella cottages off North Monroe. The sign has always caught my eye, and I often wondered what lurked beyond the front doors of Mickey’s. I mean, why don’t I know anyone who has gone there? Is it fancy schmancy? A coffee joint? Do they have food? Good food? So many questions, yet I never even bothered to google Mickey’s until a few days ago. What I found excited me so I suggested to my girlfriends that we meet there for lunch today.

Mickey’s may just be in one of the best settings that Tallahassee has to offer. Located right in the middle of town with a beautiful view of Lake Ella, Mickey’s offers both indoor and lakeside seating. Because it was the middle of the day (in August), we decided to grab a table inside. We were immediately greeted when we walked into the quaint cottage. ¬†The cafe is full of sunshine and cheery yellow walls. There were around 8 tables in the main seating area, but my friend spied an extra room with a few more tables in the back. We received menus and drinks very quickly.

The interior at Mickey’s

The menu at Mickey’s offers perfect lunchtime choices – sandwiches and hotdogs featuring Boar’s Head meats, daily soups and quiches, salads, desserts and options for kids. Honestly, all of it sounded tasty (could have been because I was starving). I finally decided on the California, a pressed sandwich on ciabatta bread with turkey, avocado, red onion, swiss cheese and pesto mayo. My girlfriends ordered the roast beef (roast beef with grilled onions, red peppers, mozzarella and au jus) and the muffaletta (pressed with ham, salami, provolone, tapanade). Each sandwich came with the option of chips or cole slaw. I asked what was in the cole slaw (mayo or oil/vinegar) – a very important question for slaw aficionados. Mickey’s slaw is a mayo based sweet slaw with, get this, sour cream added in. I usually prefer a oil/vinegar slaw unless it’s on a hot dog but the sour cream slaw sounded like it needed to be tried.

Mickey’s Lakeside Cafe at Lake Ella in Tallahassee

As we sat and waited for our food, I couldn’t help but notice the other patrons in the cafe. They were.. um, how do I say this… retirees? Or possibly parents of retirees? Haha, yes, we were dining with a large group of older ladies who seemed to be thoroughly enjoying their food and company. Later I noticed that all the cool kids were sitting outside. Guess we missed the memo.

Our server at Mickey’s was extremely nice. We had a bit of a wait for the food, but he was nice enough to let us know when it would be ready and apologized for the wait. I missed his name, and I couldn’t help but wonder if he was Mickey (yes, the Mickey). Once our food finally arrived, I went to town on my sandwich. It was delicious. My favorite part was the pesto mayo. I’m a mayo fan anyway so this was like mayo on steroids. Both of my friends enjoyed their sandwiches as well. Our only “complaint” was that the pressed ciabatta bread was extra crunchy and took a little while to chew. The slaw (which I keep referring to as “sour cream slaw” in my mind) was perfect. That sour cream took it to a new level above just your regular run-of-the-mill mayonnaise slaw. The only way to describe it was creamy and yummy.

My California with awesome pesto mayo

Sour cream cole slaw!

The roast beef sandwich

Overall, I really liked Mickey’s. I don’t know why it’s not a hotspot for lunch with state workers. Maybe you have been passing it for months and never stopped to try it like me? Whatever the reason, I would definitely encourage you to give Mickey’s Lakeside Cafe a try! You may have a bit of a wait but the food and service is worth it.

Final thoughts:

Price: $8-$12
Cleanliness: Clean 
Food: Excellent for lunch
Service: Very friendly and knowledgable
Mickey's Lakeside Cafe on Urbanspoon

Hey Mickey, you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind! :-) Couldn’t help it.

3 thoughts on “Mickey’s Lakeside Cafe

  1. twointally says:

    Wow, that looks amazing! I have been wondering about that place myself. And now I want a pressed sandwich. now. Nice write up!

  2. Mick Slager says:

    Thanks so much for your post, My wife Fran was owner and chef of the original restaurant at Goodwood Museum, the Garden Cafe (this should be named “Fran’s Cafe”). We are trying to do our best and believe Mickey’s just keeps getting better. We recently added a nice selection of beer and wine and have been experimenting with adding evening hours on Friday and Saturdays. Thanks again – Mickey

  3. [...] but has been flying under the radar by Lake Ella is Mickey’s Lakeside Cafe. After reading TastyTallahassee’s review, I moved it to the top of my to-do [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 402 other followers

